Katoomba and Blue Mountains | 蓝山一日游

有时候,在内心萌生的欲望,疯狂似地吞噬我,想冒险、想出走。
这样的我,偶尔也会被安逸征服,躲在保护我、爱护我的家人怀里,外面风雨再大也不怕。

因此,我喜欢一日游。离开城市的喧嚣,乘着火车奔向不知名小镇的感觉,有种小出走的感觉。
一日游结束,回到熟悉的爱人身边,安全舒适,明日继续探险。

I love the idea of day trips, being away from the city for a while, taking a train to somewhere unknown (alright, not that unknown), and coming back to the familiarity of your loved ones at the end of the day.

Had a few days in Sydney this May, wanted to get out of the city so a day trip to Blue Mountains it was.

I have a thing for train rides, and catching the Auzzie train out to Katoomba was one pleasant journey, although I was a tad tired from the Sydney-explorer-walkabout the day before, but the promising brilliant weather was so worth the trip!

IMG_8762

Loved the train station 🙂

IMG_8759

Strolled from the Katoomba town to a residential neighbourhood, bought myself a latte on this sunny winter day, and marched to the Blue Mountains National Park. (It takes about 20 – 30 minutes for a leisurely walk).

IMG_8686

The town map

IMG_8699

Quickly got myself on the mountain trekking trail, to get away from the group of tourists.

P1120395
Hey three sisters!

The famous rock formation Three Sisters can be seen from here, and their names are Meehni (922 m), Wimlah (918 m), and Gunnedoo (906 m) respectively.

Met groups of school girls along the way, occasional groups of two or three friends, I guess I was one rare lone trekker.

P1120404

The winds were stronger, and I got tired easily (silly joo thought it would be easy to hike in boots, but I was a little wrong, should have brought my adidas along).

P1120408
A touristy shot, taken by one of the friendly couples, met along the trekking route.

Why Blue Mountains?

Under the hot sun, vast forests of eucalypts (commonly called gum trees) in this area discharge a fine mist of eucalyptus oil from their leaves. The mist refracts light, which makes the haze look blue at a distance, hence the name.

IMG_8710

My take

I got the Sydney MyMulti-3 weekly pass (61 AUD) which gave me access to almost all public transport services (bus, train, light rail and ferry), inclusive of my train rides out to the Blue Mountain. Definitely a good pass to have if you have a week in Sydney.

IMG_8742

I spent some time at the Scenic World, got myself a three-in-one pass which allowed me rides on the steepest railway, scenic cable car and skyway. Essentially, you get to zoom around in comfort, and check out the various famous rock formations (including the Three Sisters). Well, you can achieve the same results by trekking, so I would recommend some exercise instead of spending 35 AUD on this pass.

If you like what you read, join me in my journeys via facebook.com/joojourneys or

instagramjoo

 

 

Related post:
Farewell Sydney Monorail

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

