I would love to have these pancakes again

P1030946_edited
Salmon & avocado pancakes @ my 2nd visit to J.S Pancake Cafe

Basically, pancakes fascinate me as I’m not a big fan of rice. Hence, I’m always looking for alternatives, be it noodles / bread / crepes / pizza / pasta.

And my bro introduced this really sweet pancake cafe – J.S Pancake Cafe, tucked away on the level 3 of a apparels studio (Journal Standard) in Jiyugakao. Heaven we found and I’m sharing this little secret of mine with all you guys!
P1030494_edited
my safe bet on my 1st visit: sausage & scrambled eggs with pancakes

Looks like hot cakes breakfast? It’s far better than that! The vegetables (onion & capsicum) were baked to perfection, juicy & sweet, I swear I ate most of it even though I wasn’t a big fan of them.

P1030495_edited

Scrambled egg + sausage + pancakes :) You can’t go wrong, can you? I loved how the colours made my blues go away.

On my 2nd visit, I took the liberty to ask for honey. It was definitely a good move!

P1030949_edited
super yums

And this time, I ordered organic ice tea :) which didn’t torture my taste buds like the grapefruit juice that I adventurously tried on my 1st visit did.
Oh by the way, a lunch set (pancakes with a drink) cost about 15 SGD (1000 yen or so), which in my opinion, is value for money as compared to certain places in SG.

P1030948

P1030470
just open, like 11-am-ish

You would love the nice, bright, airy & lovely atmosphere coupled with the most courteous service you can get. 

P1030951
the lunch crowd, young mums & ladies’ fave haunt.

P1030950
female chefs at work. rare sight.

P1030469
sit by the window & catch a glimpse of the Jiyugaoka streets | trees, sunshine, happy ppl

P1030486
while waiting for my pancakes…

P1030472
抬头看…

P1030954
pancakes for takeaway

My Take

Nice little heaven for brunch or tea on a leisurely day, regardless of rain or shine. I secretly hope that some cafe like that would land in SG, but definitely I would prefer polite Japanese service staff to ermz, random “international” service staff commonly seen in SG.

Ask for lunch / dinner set menus, they can save you quite a bit.

A definite-must-visit-place when I return to Tokyo next time :) I miss JS pancakes alr!!

Where
東京都目黒区自由が丘1-8-7 3F
Tokyo, Meguro-ku, Jiyugaoka 1-8-7 Level 3.

Short walk from the Jiyugaoka subway station :)

Leave a Reply

